Welcome to my blog space

Photo from PeopleImages from Getty Images Signature on Canva Pro

I started blogging in 2012 nearly two years after we moved into a fixer-upper. I was a graduate student and mom to two toddlers and I appreciated having a space to write and freely express nearly every idea that popped into my head. (For more information, visit my About page.)

I abandoned my second blog space for Substack when our family moved back to Indianapolis from Texas. I like to talk about all the things, so expect to see a mixture of personal growth, parenting, marriage, travel, faith reflections, and politics all rolled into one. I had previously divided the blog portion of my Substack into sections. Some of those spaces are explained below, but you can find other sections that remain in the Writer Life and Special Series tabs.

Accepting the Unexpected

In this section, I step away from writing about travel to comment on the bigger journey of life. While the topics may vary, the central theme is always the same: living life means learning to deal with the unexpected.

Read the blog

Embracing Curiosity

In this section, I step away from writing about travel to comment on the bigger journey of life, exploring my faith and politics with curiosity and nuance.

Read the blog

Mission: Wanderlust

In this section, I write and podcast about our family’s travel adventures and the things that we have learned along the way.

Read the blog

Newsletter Updates

All of my updates will now come to your inbox as standard posts, but to access previous updates, you can click below.

Read the newsletter


Thank you for checking out the series above. If you want to see more of my writing and you don’t want to miss out on updates, don’t forget to subscribe!