39 Comments

I have 19 drafts sitting in my inbox as we speak but I don’t even know if I will publish them. I don’t typically schedule out. The nature of my Substack is very reactive to the events that have occurred that week.

Expand full comment
Dec 4, 2023·edited Dec 4, 2023Liked by Sarah Styf

I currently have half a dozen draft substack columns and only one scheduled--for tomorrow. Some of the drafts were actually scheduled but I changed their status based on a bunch of factors like timeliness. I like to have at least 2-3 scheduled, but I go with the flow of each week and don't stress about being only a week "ahead."

Expand full comment

I start on Friday drafting stories and planning for next week. But i will tell you it doesn't always work out. A new story might pop in my head that i feel is more important to get out. But the important thing to me is keep a planner and do the best you can. You can organize better. If you do not, you get lost.

Expand full comment

I write and post almost every day, no drafts, just wing it! Sometimes I go back and edit after I publish, but most of the time it's pretty straightforward, as I write about where I ride my bike. Just reporting the facts and a few observations. I write about wherever my bike takes me. 😀

Expand full comment