Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
7

A Special Treat: My Enchilada Recipe

A little something to accompany both my Texas and camping posts
7

I know, I never have been and never will be a food blogger, but…

Last month, I wrote about how much we miss Tex-Mex now that we are back in Indiana. Actually, I talked about a lot of food in that post, mostly because we completely came into our own in the six years that we lived in Texas.



Whenever we make pulled pork, my favorite leftover recipe is pulled pork enchiladas. We also now use pulled pork or brisket for tacos. I don’t remember when I last used ground beef.

It’s even better when I have that pulled pork available to make those enchiladas before we head out on a camping trip, which is what happened before we left for Indiana Dunes for Memorial Day.

So here is a bonus blog/vlog post for all of you who would like the simple recipe for our pulled pork enchiladas, inspired by the recipe we originally took from the Traeger cookbook. (To be honest, I’ve changed the recipe some since the first time we tried it.)

Ingredients

  • 1 lb of pulled pork (or any other preferred meat)

  • 1 cup sour cream

  • 8 oz of cheese (I use colby jack)

  • 1 can Rotel

  • 20 oz enchilada sauce (I use red)

  • 12-15 fajita sized tortillas

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven or grill to 350 degrees

  2. Mix the pulled pork, sour cream, cheese, and Rotel in a bowl

  3. Coat the bottom of a 9 x 13 pan with half of the enchilada sauce

  4. Use an ice cream scoop to put filling into tortillas, roll the filling into the tortilla, then put the rolled enchilada seam side down into the pan

  5. When pan is full, drizzle the remaining enchilada sauce on the rolled enchiladas and sprinkle them with additional cheese

  6. Cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes

  7. Uncover the pan and bake for an additional 15 minutes, or until the dish is bubbling

  8. Let sit for about 10 minutes before eating

Let me know if you try the recipe and what you think. It is a family favorite and now my kids leave us with no leftovers. I hope that it treats your family as well as it continues to treat ours.


Support my writing

While most of my work here is free for all subscribers, it is still a labor of love that I fit into the few hours I have when I am not teaching or being an attentive wife and mom. If you wish to support my writing but do not want to commit to being a paid subscriber, please consider a one-time donation.

One-time donation

You can also support me by ordering my book or books from my favorite book lists at my Bookshop.org affiliate page.

Bookshop.org Affiliate

Check out my merchandise store on RedBubble.

Store Link

If you want to be a regular supporter, you can upgrade your subscription from free to paid and get occasional content only for paid subscribers.

And thank you for supporting my journey 💗

Discussion about this podcast